About Us
        10 Commandments
        Policy & Planning
        Administrative SetUp
        Apex Cooperatives
        RTI Act


Administrative Setup

The Department of Cooperation is headed by the Registrar, Cooperative Societies. Who has been entrusted with the duties of promoting, sustaining as well as guiding the Cooperative Societies in the State. The statutory functions of the Registrar Include the functions as contained in the Punjab Cooperative Societies Act, 1961 and the rules framed there under. These range from registration of the Cooperative Societies to that of the elections of their governing bodies, from inspection of societies to the hearing of arbitration of appeals in case of any dispute and from execution of awards to the liquidation of the societies. The developmental functions of the Registrar include planning, management and implementation of projects and schemes concerning promotion and development of Cooperatives.
            The Registrar and the officers appointed to assist him work under the direct supervision, control and guidance of Financial Commissioner (Cooperation) and the Cooperation Minister and CM at Government Level.
            In year 2013 Restructing of Cooperative Department was done. After Restructing 1953 posts were declared under regular head by the Government .To streamline the working of Inspectors in the field, a massive exercise was carried out to fix the circles and jurisdiction of the 835 Inspectors of the Department in consultation with the Field Officers. Before issuing orders fixing headquarter and jurisdiction of Inspectors, the workload of each Inspector, the geographical contiguity and convenience of general public was taken into account. Punjab Government vide letter dated 13.10.13 has given approval to open  5 new Deputy Registrar offices in Punjab i.e in Pathankot Fazilka, TaranTaran, Barnala and Mohali and 2 Assistant Registrar offices in Tapa and chamkaur sahib and 697 head quarters of Cooperative Inspectors has been fixed at field Level.

The Registrar is assisted by five Additional Registrars, three Joint Registrar, three Deputy Registrars and three Assistant Registrars at the State Level. In the field, there are three divisional Joint Registrar, Twenty Two Deputy Registrars and 80 Assistant Registrars. These officers are assisted by Cooperative in the State.

orgnisation Chart of Cooperation Department, Punjab


Cooperation Minister


Chief Parliamentary Secretary, Cooperation


Financial Commissioner, Cooperation


Special Secretary, Coopeation,
(Chief Minister House)


Special Secretary, Cooperation


Registrar, Cooperative Societies, Punjab



                       Joint Registrar (PLANNING)

Deputy Controller (F & A)

Establishment  Officer

Establishment  Officer-2



Joint Registrar (I)

Deputy Registrar (Enforcement)

Deputy Registrar (Banking)

Additional Registrar (Distribution)

Assistant Registrar (Legal)


Assistant  Registrar (Education)/Assistant Registrar (Audit)

Assistant Registrar (Lady Wing)



Joint Registrar (II)



Joint Registrar(II)                                                                                                                  Assistant Registrar (self supporting group)

Joint Registrars in  Field

Joint Registrar, Patiala

Joint Registrar, Jalandhar


Joint Registrar, Ferozepur


Deputy Registrar-7

  • Deputy Registrar, Patiala
  • Deputy Registrar, Sangrur
  • Deputy Registrar, Ludhiana
  • Deputy Registrar, Ropar
  • Deputy Registrar, Fatehgarh Sahib
  • Deputy Registrar, Ajitgarh (Mohali)   
  • Deputy Registrar Barnala                                                                                           .

Deputy Registrar -8

  • Deputy Registrar, Jalandhar
  • Deputy Registrar, Sahid Bhagat Singh Nagar
  • Deputy Registrar, Kapurthala
  • Deputy Registrar, Amritsar
  • Deputy Registrar, Gurdaspur
  • Deputy Registrar, Hoshiarpur
  • Deputy Registrar, Pathankot     
  • Deputy Registrar, Tarn Taran    


Deputy Registrar-7

  • Deputy Registrar, Ferozepur
  • Deputy Registrar, Bathinda
  • Deputy Registrar, Faridkot
  • Deputy Registrar, Moga
  • Deputy Registrar, Muktsar Sahib
  • Deputy Registrar, Mansa
  • Deputy Registrar, Fazilka

Assistant Registrar-27


Assistant Registrar-31


Assistant Registrar-22